CTR or Click Through Rate, refers to the percentage of clicks that a specific link receives, based on the number of impressions or openers generated by the link.
The formula for calculating CTR is as follows:
Ctr = (clicks / impressions) x 100
For example, if you sent a mailing and it received 100 openers or impressions and 12 clicks, the formula would be:
CTR = (12 / 100) x 100 = 12%
CTR is a basic metric, and you will certainly have seen this acronym in other places:
· Google Ads Campaigns
· On Facebook
In any marketing tool, you buy when it offers reports of users who clicked on a link or button.
It is indeed a more interesting metric than others, such as the open rate, due to all the information, we can get through this type of report.
· Average CTR statistics (up to 2021)
Although my recommendation is that you don’t focus much on general statistics, but always use your own numbers; I will share with you some relevant data about CTR.
They were extracted from a reliable location if you want to see the original source. (Smartensights)
· In search on Google Ads, the average CTR is: 1.55%
· As for the display network, it is at: 0.47%
· Facebook: 1,11%
· Instagram: 0,22%
· Email marketing: 2,5%
It is possible that you believe that these numbers are extremely low, and the reality is that little by little, the CTR numbers were being reduced; in all the communication channels.
This is happening largely due to increased pressure from advertising, the the number of ads and, moreover, increasingly easy tools for campaign management.
With these tools, there are more and more people with access to different options to advertise their products or services online.
Therefore, it is not strange that click rates have been reduced.
However, there are strategies you can use to overcome this reduction.
· The impacts say a lot
Advertising has a power that many people are unaware of
For years, the effect of advertising has been studied even in situations where we ignore it or intend to ignore it.
I will save you the work:
· Advertising is effective even if you completely ignore it.
I will give you a very simple and obvious example.
Imagine you access YouTube, and while watching some videos, an ad is displayed. You ignore the advertisement.
You keep watching videos.
The same ad is shown again. You keep ignoring it.
The next day, the same thing happens.
You never click on the ad and, of course, don’t show the smallest interest in the product or service they are offering.
Now answer these two questions:
· Do you think you remember the product the brand was advertising?
· If you need to solve the problem for which the product is directed, would you consider buying this product?
I am sure that in 90% of cases, the answer to these questions would be “yes.”
How is that possible?
Simple. Our brain records all the stimuli it receives, even if it is done unconsciously.
Even when you are not paying attention.
And little by little, it will begin to get used to the stimulus.
This is why brands that are exposed to you daily seem more reliable, more recognizable, and are usually the starting point when you need to research for a solution to a specific problem or need.
► But then, what does that mean?
Well, you should not feel discouraged if the click metric is low.
Each email delivered will help to increase your sales gradually, even if subscribers don’t click on the links.
It is true that if they click, it will be better. That’s why we recommend that you learn how to create effective subject lines for your campaigns.
Let’s talk about it now.
· The more, the better.
One of the easiest strategies for improving results usually is to increase the sending frequency.
Although it may seem counterproductive, in many cases, it is very useful.
However, when we increase the sending frequency, we increase the opportunities to improve click and open rates.
As it is very difficult to know the best time for our subscribers, increasing the sending frequency helps to increase the chances that the email will arrive at the best time.
In addition, your contacts will start to expect your next emails, which could help create a habit and thus get more web traffic.
What else can we try to do?
► Increase the number of links, but without exaggerating
Including between 2 and 3 links instead of a single link can help increase your CTR.
Try to put them separately, not altogether.
For example, one at the beginning of the message, one in the middle, or at the end of the newsletter.
That way, you will maximize the chances of getting more clicks.
Although you should not overdo it because if you include many links, this could confuse the reader, affect the newsletter layout, or even activate the antispam filters.
Around 2 to 3 links would be sufficient for most situations.
► Your links should be different, with different content near them
This is easy to do. Each link should offer different options for your subscribers. In addition, the content that is around the link should also have other information:
· For example, use a typical link format. With the text in blue and underlined. Many people recognize this kind of link more easily.
· You can also use very long texts, which, together with a different format will help to improve CTR.
· Use clear Calls to Action, explaining to the reader that they can click to receive more information about the offered product or service. Don’t always use the famous “click here.”
You can also consider using images, however not all email clients show images by default.
Be sure to include text with the link as well.
· In summary
The proportion of CTR, or clicks, is an interesting metric. Much more than the open rate.
It is also a more malleable metric since we can influence it more easily.
Take advantage of everything we saw in this post, and if you still have questions, We have several articles that explain how to improve CTR to increase your conversion rate.
Translated by Micheli.
The post What is CTR in email marketing, and how to improve it? appeared first on Mailrelay.